Adult lesson Reviews

Junior Pilot Reviews

Group Reviews

Visited Icarus Simulation for a one-hour experience session in March with my son. It was so impressive that he and I have since both signed up for the full course that Ed offers, which includes some real flying. Having done over ten hours in the simulator and 2 hours of real flight, I’m really impressed with how fast you can learn in this environment and how well the learning from the simulator translates into the real world. ....I could go on all day but there must be a limit on words on TripAdvisor :) Just give it a go - you won’t regret it!
— A Jackson - 22/6/17
Having received a 1 hour lesson for my 70th birthday have to say what a brilliant experience and great fun! Highly professional instruction from Ed the instructor. Tremendous graphics and very impressive simulation on all levels. This is a MUST for anyone wishing to get a thoroughly realistic feel for flying on either a ‘one-off’ taste or as the introduction to a fully fledged instruction course. Very impressive!
— David S. March 2017
Had the most amazing lesson. My dream has always been to fly a commercial airliner, the lesson with Icarus simulation made me feel like I fulfilled my dream. I got to pilot a Boeing 737 from Newcastle to Edinburgh as well as make approaches in the London City and Las Vegas. This was truly one of the best days in my life. Thank you Ed!
— AJY - September 2016
My wife bought me a voucher for this experience for my birthday and i thoroughly enjoyed it.To anyone who likes the idea of flying a plane this is as close as it gets without leaving terra firma. Thanks to Ed for his professionalism, instruction and patience.I will certainly return for more.
— Colin B. - August 2016
Thanks to Ed at Icarus Simulation yesterday. Crammed a lot in half an hour and it really felt like a lot longer. Excellent value, great tuition and fantastic facilities. Will defo be back
— J. Thrower, 11/07/2016
I had a 1hr experience and I absolutely loved it, so much better than I expected will defo be booking some more sessions. ✈️
— D. Marshall, 18-06-2016
I had an excellent, informative and fun experience and hopefully will be back for more.
— 11-02-2016
Thoroughly enjoyable and intend to take teenage children for birthday treat to try junior pilot experience...”
— 12-01-2016
We bought a flight simulation experience... at Icarus Simulation in Langley Park Durham. It was for a 30 minute taster (they train real pilots most of the time) and it was brilliant. The simulator was very realistic, and you quickly forget you are on the ground and get totally immersed in the experience. Our pilot trainer was excellent and really made the whole thing come to life.We really enjoyed it and would recommend it.
— 04-01-2016
Thanks you for a wonderful flight experience. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole thing and would definitely like to do it again. Hope to be back in the future.
We wish your business success and thank you for a great afternoon,
— 29/12/2015
It was a great hours tuition, the pace and information were spot on thank you. Best of luck with your business!...
— Damon - 29/12/2015
Excellent instruction and facilities. A great experience, thank you!
— S. Gregory
Thank you for our great ‘flight’ experience (3rd August). Les was so proud of himself for not crashing! We are recommending you to our friends - especially with the photos I was able to take. Totally different event.
— L & B Anderson
Flew it today, fun, informative, challenging, and didn’t manage to wreck too many aircraft in the process.
Great gift idea, helpful, entertaining and knowledgeable tutors.
— G Aungiers
Fabulous, would highly recommend it. We’ll be going again!
— Nyama
A great experience and local to the Durham Area. Highly recommended...
— M Young
Outstanding from start to finish. Fun, challenging, informative and exciting. Couldn’t wish for more. As always, thank you from myself and James.
— A. Young - 30/7/17
My granddaughter had a marvellous time, she said it was the best present ever, never stopped talking about it all day, thanks to Ed.
— 14/02/2016
14 year old son really enjoyed his hour, so much so that his dad booked the six one hour lessons. Great experience.
— 02-02-2016
WOW!! MY SON LOVED THE EXPERIENCE AND WANTS TO GO BACK ASAP. CONCRETED HIS AMBITION TO BECOME A PILOT THANKS
— 05-01-2016
Visited Icarus with my grandson and what a fantastic morning we had ! We took the controls of various types of aircraft, needless to say grandson considerably more able than me but nevertheless, we both managed several landings without too much damage. Tremendously realistic and guided by a very knowledgeable and patient instructor it is a great experience for all ages.
— Mike - 02/01/2016
Brilliant experience for my son, thoroughly enjoyed everything.
— 31/12/2015
It was absolutely excellent. The instructor was very clear and gave my son about 5 different planes to experience. Great fun. Even better because my granddaughter and I were able to sit in the back seat and watch. Would love to do it again. Would thoroughly recommend it.
— Sue, 01-12-2015
The session was incredible - ...my daughter was delighted and inspired by the guidance and left with a sense of achievement. Her ambition to become a pilot is reinforced! The manner in which Ed explained everything and the way he guided her was perfect! We will be booking a course very soon. Many thanks indeed.
— 10-11-2015
Grandsons (11 and 13) absolutely loved it!
— K Appleby
Fantastic instruction, made the children feel at ease and the kids loved it. They were asking to go again even before we walked out of the building.
— Robin
My two kids (14 and 11) thoroughly enjoyed their flight simulation experience and would be keen to do it again. Great fun and very informative and interesting.
— Sandra
Bought this experience as part of my son’s 9th birthday - he thoroughly enjoyed this experience - would definitely recommend.
— J Thompson
We attended Icarus for my partner’s birthday, on the recommendation of a colleague of mine who had visited. The website had offered a great deal on a “couples challenge” which was excellent value for money.

We had around 1 and 3/4 hours in the simulator, and were able to take turns at the cockpit controls or sit in the back to observe.

We each had a brief session learning the basics before things got competitive! We had a variety of flights and landings in different aircraft, locations and weather with the odd novelty thrown in for good measure (flying under the Sydney Harbour Bridge in a fighter jet). The graphics are very good and provide a fully immersive experience.

It was a brilliant afternoon undertaking a completely different activity and we both really enjoyed it. This unique facility is very well presented, comfortable and the simulator itself is of excellent quality and obviously high spec (it used by actual pilots in training).

I would highly recommend it and wish the owner (a commercial pilot) the very best of luck.
— Trip Adviser - 19-05-2016
I booked both my husband and son on the experience. Even I got invited into the back to share the experience which made it very special. Thank you!
— 01/01/2016
I would like to say a big thank you to Edward. My husband and son thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Well worth the money and would definitely recommend.
— 10-11-2015
A fantastic afternoon - both my husband and son had a great time - Landing on the strip at Vegas made my sons day! - was a great experience!
— 30-11-2015
My son absolutely loved his first flight simulator experience. He is already planning his next visit...so is his Dad! Well worth the money - voucher or not!
— 12-01-2016